The expanses of WolfWings' land
scratched on the wall for all to see

June 25th, 2004
June 25th, 2004
June 25th, 2004
June 25th, 2004
June 25th, 2004

[User Picture]06:17 pm - Okay, to update everyone now that I can explain the numbers better...
I'm not making enough at this job to pay rent and the requisite weekly food money (let alone utilities). Since we have one person doing all the shopping and I patently do eat twice what anyone else here does, I can't save money by doing my own shopping for extra-cheap stuff, despite having a CostCo membership. The person in charge of shopping for the household doesn't want to deal with the extra hastle of seperating out mass-purchased stuff, or dealing with larger quantities. Hell, they buy 10 half-gallon's of milk a week at Trader Joe's, instead of just buying 5 gallons for half the price, because the half-gallons fit better in the fridge, apparently.

To wit:

I get $8/hour, 20 hours a week.
Utilities are an unknown currently for me.
Food is $90/week for me.
Rent is $360/month.

That comes to:
$4680/year for food, for me, at $90/week.
$4320/year for rent, for me, at $360/month.
$9000/year total for food and rent, plus utilities still.

I only make $8320/year, at $160/week, before taxes. Even if I got the raise to $9/hour, that would only be $9360/year to survive on, and both of those figures are, again, before taxes. Take those out, I make significantly less, again well under $9k/year for food and rent here, let alone utilities which I've ignored for the time being.

And no, I don't think I can go back to the PS. =-.-= They've wanted me (not me specifically, but the 'slot' I occupied at that house, it was simply too crowded) out of there for ages now, and now that I've finally been gone... I don't think I'll be able to go back. That slot, such as it was, no longer exists to be filled by anyone, let alone me.

In a few weeks, I'll have a car through my Dad... but I have this wonderfully narrow gap in the middle I have to squeeze through where I don't appear to have a roof over my head, or food to eat, or a place to store anything I currently own, before I have a vehicle that would let me feasably get a job, or even just do computer-work for people ad-hoc in the valley up here, which would be quite ideal for me, to be honest.

I'm starting to look around for alternatives, but it's looking like most of my possessions will still end up a casualty in all this, unless I can find crash space for me and several boxes of stuff for an indeterminate amount of time until I have the car where at least I can keep everything.

I'm going to sit down with my new landlord/boss combo, and try to figure things out better as to where I stand, and what my options are here, since paying rent this month simply isn't going to happen, unfortunately. =-.-=4 commentsLeave a comment

Log in

No account? Create an account